Tags

, ,

I got back to school after a 3-month internship in New York City, and something just felt off. I was in this terrible funk, and I couldn’t figure out what was wrong. I was doing no school work, no laundry (OK, I’m still not doing any of that) and really very little of anything but watch TV.

Cinnamon Heath Bar Crunch Cookies

I came home from school the day before my first exam and knew I needed to study, but I just couldn’t. I realized what was wrong: I hadn’t baked in three and a half months. I set out the butter to soften, threw on the apron, and figured out what to make.

Right before I left for New York in December, I found Heath Bar Bits at the Lowes, which is ironically the best source of obscure baking ingredients in Winston Salem. I knew these cookies would be good, but I really cannot begin to describe just how good.

I was a little unsure about the whole wheat, but trust me, it works. Instead of the usual speechless I get when I bite into a great cookie, it was just a stream of expletives. That’s right, these cookies are so good they are NSFW.

Cinnamon Heath Bar Crunch Cookies

The magical healing properties of these cookies cannot be underestimated. I am pretty sure time stops when you eat them, and I guarantee you will forget all your problems.

Cinnamon Heath Bar Crunch Cookies

Adapted from Eat Live Run “My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies”
Makes about 2 dozen cookies

3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 egg
1 stick butter, softened
½ cup heath toffee bits

Preheat oven to 350F.

Whisk together the flours, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

Cream together the butter and sugar. Add the egg. Add the vanilla and mix gently to combine.

Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix. Stir in the heath toffee bits.

Take about 1 tablespoon size scoops of cookie dough and roughly shape into a ball and press flat onto a greased baking sheet – they should be about an inch wide.

Cinnamon Heath Bar Crunch Cookie Dough

Bake for 8 minutes. Remove from oven and let sit on the sheet another 5 minutes.

You can also drop the cookies instead of shaping to get a different look and texture. If you drop, bake at 12 minutes instead of 8.

Cinnamon Heath Bar Crunch Cookies 4

