Tags

, ,

Do you remember those chocolate oranges? You had to slam them on the table, and then they cracked into perfect sections?

Chocolate Orange Patty

I always claimed I hated the chocolate orange combination. I hated anything orange-flavored. If it wasn’t an orange or orange juice, I wanted nothing to do with it.

Then, without thinking, I found myself buying orange extract. Then putting it into a candy. Then grating orange zest into my chocolate.

Melted Chocolate with Orange Zest

It was a total out-of-body experience – I mean, I hate orange-chocolate-candy combinations.

Except, apparently I don’t. These taste like those chocolate oranges, but a little sweeter. And I love it.

Container of Chocolate Orange Patties

I did add food coloring to get a more authentic orange feel, but I’ll be honest, I don’t think it made these look any more natural.

Inside of Chocolate Orange Patty

Chocolate Orange Patties
Based on Eat Live Run’s Homemade Peppermint Patties

1 ¼ cups confectioner’s sugar
¾ tbsp. light corn syrup
¾ tbsp. water
½ tsp. orange extract
½ tbsp. shortening
4-5 drops orange food coloring (optional)
½ cup dark chocolate chips
1 ½ tbsp. butter.
Zest of one orange (about 2 tbsp.)

Mix together the confectioner’s sugar, corn syrup, water, orange extract, food coloring and shortening using an electric mixer. Mixture will be very crumbly. Move to a confectioner’s sugar dusted surface and knead for a minute or two to get a smooth ball. Roll out to ¼ inch thick using a rolling pin and freeze for 10 minutes.

Using small circular cookie cutters, or a small shot glass if you don’t have a small cookie cutter (because really, who does?), punch circles in the dough. Freeze again for 15 – 20 more minutes.

Melt the chocolate and butter over very low heat. Stir in orange zest.

Drop the patties in and smooth the chocolate over the top to coat well. Use a fork to transfer from the pot to a wax-paper covered surface (I use a cutting board), and freeze until firm, about 20 minutes. I found that if I took the full sheet of patties out of the freezer while I dipped each in chocolate, they were too soft by the end and fell apart in the chocolate. I recommend only taking 3-5 out at a time so they keep their form better in the chocolate.
Store in the fridge.

