Tags

, , ,

If I could live off one food group for the rest of my life, it would be Mexican. The rice/beans/cheese variety cannot be topped. So naturally, when I saw this homemade burrito bowl pop up in my Google reader, I had to have it for dinner.

burrito inspired spinach salad

I was deep in cleaning mode (two months of CPA prep courses start this week, so I am trying to get things in order before they begin), and I quickly discovered that while I was living in New York City, my rice had been infiltrated. No problem, I could just sub quinoa.

Spicy Quinoa

Then I realized I had leftover tomatoes and mushrooms from the pizza from the other night. Again, no problem, just sub that for salsa.

black bean and quinoa salad

Then I realized I had a lot of spinach to use up, so I should probably throw the burrito bowl on spinach – there’s nothing wrong with a bit more spinach in your diet. I did grow up on Popeye.

Black bean and quinoa spinach salad

Clearly, this is no longer a burrito bowl. I’d say it is “burrito-inspired cuisine.” And really, who doesn’t love that?

Black Bean and Quinoa Spinach Salad

Serves 2

2 large handfuls of spinach
¼ cup black beans
½ tsp. cumin
½ cup spicy quinoa
½ tsp. crushed red pepper
Sprinkle of shredded mozzarella and cheddar
¼ cup fire-roasted tomatoes
1 tbsp. olive oil
¼ cup mushrooms, chopped

For the quinoa, bring 1 cup water to boil with a dash of salt and the crushed red pepper. Add the quinoa and reduce to simmer, cooking for 15-20 minutes.

Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add mushrooms, and sauté for about 10 minutes. Drain the mushrooms and mix with the tomatoes.

Over the bed of spinach, layer the quinoa, cumin, black beans, mushrooms, tomatoes and cheese. Serve while the toppings are still warm.

