Tags

,

I always had this idea that I didn’t like meatballs. I don’t know why, it was just on the never ending list of things I didn’t like for no reason at all.

Spicy Parmesan Turkey Meatball 1 For whatever reason the other night, I decided maybe I would like meatballs. I had this grand idea about making some homemade pasta and throwing some turkey meatballs on top with some tomato sauce. I grabbed the first recipe that popped up when I googled turkey meatballs, made some adjustments, and put my little convection oven to work.Meatball 2I decided to test one from the first batch out of the oven, and then I just stood in the kitchen and ate 5 more. Woah. Yeah, I kind of like meatballs.

So clearly these are delicious on their own, but they are also awesome with brown rice and tomato sauce (how I ate them the next 3 days). And I think these would be pretty awesome as turkey burgers too.
Meatball 3

As you can see by the pictures, I went a little heavy on the green onion. I reduced the amount in the recipe below – there is a thing as too much onion.

Spicy Parmesan Turkey Meatballs

Makes 30-35 small meatballs

1 pound ground turkey

1/2 cup whole wheat panko crumbs

4 stalks green onion (about 2/3 cup)

1 egg

1/4 cup parmesan

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. black pepper

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. coriander

1/2 tsp. cayenne

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Roll into balls about 2 tbsp. Broil at 400F for 12-15 minutes, until browned on top.